What's your experience?

I'm a newbie here, but I'm somewhat of a newbie to running, too!

I'm wondering what your first few years of running and marathon training was like.

I began running when the COVID-19 lockdowns struck, and I've been bitten by the running bug. I was never a runner in my entire life, and it took months for me to have real break-throughs in performance—running a mile without stopping, then a 5k, then a 10k, etc.

Now I run at least one half marathon per month (PR 1:42:02), and I ran an unofficial marathon a few months ago just for the fun of it. I didn't train specifically for it, and the longest distance I'd ever ran before was one half-marathon, but I finished it in in 3:54:14 (I made a big mistake in running it alone, without proper hydration or nutrition).

Now 10 months after beginning my running career, I'm sitting at a 5:44 mile, 19:58 5k, and a 41:07 10k.

I hope to run at least one official marathon this year, and I want to run it sub-3.

What do you more experienced runners think about this goal? Is it too ambitious?

What was your experience like when you began running? What were your short-term race goals? What are your short-term and long-term goals now?

I love reading about other runners' experiences and goals. Tell me about them!

TLDR: Cut from baseball, apparently very good at sprinting? Injure leg. Go slower, run longer. I hope to run all 6 major marathons.

What was your experience like when you began running?
Novel incoming... I have a pretty weird running path, but it may be interesting as I have kind of stumbled my way into the marathon and we have the same sub 3 goal.